My Review: Daydream’s Daughter, Nightmare’s Friend

RRBC Selection Banner Roll Shell2

Daydream’s Daughter, Nightmare’s Friend introduces readers to the complex, and dare I say unfair, life of Maiya James. As parents, we are to protect and shelter our children. We are to keep them from harm. We are to stand in the face of danger and challenge it ever stage of the way. Sadly, that’s not what happened for Maiya James. Author Jules does a remarkable job of drawing out an array of deep emotions, as she takes readers on an unforgettable journey. Just when you think that things were looking up for Maiya, here comes a whole different challenge to her already complicated life. Furthermore, each and every character had a significant role in Maiya’s life – be it good or bad.

One characteristic that I look for in a hero or heroine is their resilience. In Nonnie Jules’ Coming of Age novel Daydream’s Daughter, Nightmare’s Friend I found such a character. As I read this raw and shocking account of a young girl’s jilted life, I couldn’t help but shed tears from time to time. And even when this child grows up, with a family of her own, I became that much more enthralled at how things developed based on her upbringing. In a way, I now consider that this might’ve been a character study about the effects of abuse.

DDNF has ridden my mind since the day I finished reading it. That is the effect of Nonnie Jules’ writing. The author has a strong command on language and excellent ability to carry a difficult plot, allowing for events to unfold as necessary. Moreover, the impact of this reading has quite simply stunned me. I am not one to give spoilers; however, I will say that DDNF can easily capture readers that are looking to be taken in by the realities of a less than perfect life.

Available through Amazon

6 thoughts on “My Review: Daydream’s Daughter, Nightmare’s Friend

Leave a Reply

