What is culture?

World

CULTURE

The online Merriam-Webster dictionary provides the following as one of its definitions for culture:

“Integrated pattern of human knowledge, belief, and behaviour that is both a result of and integral to the human capacity for learning and transmitting knowledge to succeeding generations. Culture thus consists of language, ideas, beliefs, customs, taboos, codes, institutions, tools, techniques, works of art, rituals, ceremonies, and symbols.”

(Origin of quote)

I would go even further to declare that, based on my observations, it is the overall make up of each of these factors that contribute to an individual’s culture. I will use myself as an example. I was born in Guyana, South America and raised in the United States of America. Moreover, I grew up amongst Americans and foreigners for a variety of countries. I’ve always been observant, paying attention to the language, dialect, behaviors, customs, food and essentially everything that sets everyone apart. And based on my experiences, I can truly say that I have a deep desire to spotlight cultures from around the world – hence, my creation of Cultural Cocktails.

Leave a Reply

